2020 Conference Program

Full schedule shown in Madrid time – (CET : Central European Time)

Friday, 13 November 

4.00 pm

Welcome and introduction

  • Alejandro García Hermida, Director of the Richard H. Driehaus Initiatives in Spain and Portugal 
  • Manuel Blanco Lage, Director of the School of Architecture of the Polytechnic University of Madrid 
  • Javier Cenicacelaya, President of INTBAU Spain
  • José Baganha, President of INTBAU Portugal
  • Rafael Manzano Martos

4.20 pm

Urban Regeneration in Al Balad, Jeddah Historic District

Mohamad Hamouié

* (4.40 pm) Questions & Answers on Mohamad Hamouié’s presentation 

5.00 pm

A new hut in Medina Sidonia, Cádiz

Antonio Gandano

* (5.20 pm) Questions & Answers on Antonio Gandano’s presentation 

5.40 pm

Panel Discussion: Teaching Traditional Architecture

Michael Lykoudis, Sanjeev Singh, Francisco Uviña, Fernando Vela Cossío
Moderator: Stefanos Polyzoides

* (6.20 pm) Questions & Answers on the panel discussion

6.50 pm 


7.20 pm

Panel Discussion: Architecture and Traditional Building Crafts

Melissa DelVecchio & Zoltan Kovacs, Rodrigo de la Torre & José María Rincón 
Moderator: Marjorie Hunt

* (7.50 pm) Questions & Answers on the panel discussion

8.10 pm 

Closing remarks

Alejandro García Hermida 

Saturday, 14 November

9.30 am

Welcome and introduction

Alejandro García Hermida

9.40 am 

A life-time work to keep the uniqueness and beauty of the town of Ecija, Seville

Fernando Martín Sanjuán

* (10.00 am) Questions & Answers on Fernando Martín Sanjuán’s presentation 

10.20 am 

Rachamankha Hotel, Chiang Mai

Ong-ard Satrabhandhu

* (10.40 am) Questions & Answers on Ong-ard Satrabhandhu’s presentation 

11.00 am 

Panel Discussion: Traditional Building Knowledge and Local Communities

Marta Colmenares (Terrachidia), Maurizio Cesprini (Canova), Ionas Sklavounos (Boulouki) and Arezoo Khazanbeig (Taar)
Moderator: Wesam Al Asali

* (11.40 am) Questions & Answers on the panel discussion 

12.00 pm


12.30 pm

Panel Discussion: The Contemporary Practice of Traditional Architecture

Mainel Arquitectura, Alfonso Zavala, Abelardo Linares del Castillo-Valero.
Moderator: David Rivera

* (13.00 am) Questions & Answers on the panel discussion

13.20 pm

Closing remarks

Alejandro García Hermida, Fernando Vela Cossío and Carol Wyant